top of page

You Go Girl!

Feminists have fought for the rights of women since as early as the eighteenth century. From the notorious Mexican artist, Frida Kahlo, to our very own Queen Bey, Beyoncé, women in history have shaped how women are viewed today. With their voices, they’ve empowered the masses, especially women. One outlet, being through their music. Here is six songs that have made me feel empowered in their own way.


Independent Women Pt.1 – Destiny’s Child

To take it back a bit, here is a track by Destiny’s Child that made a five-year-old me watching, want to be an independent woman.


I buy my own diamonds and I buy my own rings

only ring your celly when I’m feelin’ lonely

Yeah, this is definitely a song where you can talk yo sh*t ladies!


Don’t Touch My Hair – Solange ft. Sampha

We’ve all been here before. Whether you were wearing your hair natural or tried a new weave, there’s that one person (yes they are..nvm) that wants to touch it. Like, no!


Don’t touch my hair

When it’s the feelings I wear

Don’t touch my soul

When it’s the rhythm I know

Don’t touch my crown

They say the vision, I’ve found


***Flawless – Beyoncé ft. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Beyoncé really took this girl-anthem to the next level when she included a sample of a speech given by THE Ms. Feminist herself, writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. She also gave us the amazing hit line, “I woke up like this.”


Fancy – Drake

I’ve never met Drake, but something about him tells me he spits mad game with every woman he comes in contact with. Lmao. Nonetheless, this song is a bop and will make you feel like the sh*t. Also, T.I. and Swizz Beats did what they had to do, 10/10 recommend.


Atlanta girls, let me see your hands

Wave ‘em at them bi*ches hating on you with their friends


Complexion – Kendrick Lamar

If you know me, you know K Dot is my fave. In this track he takes away the “Team Dark Skin vs Team Light Skin” because uh.. we’re all black guys. Can you believe he got flack for having a light skin wife? Who by the way, he’s been with since he was a teenager. Smh. Ladies, your black is beautiful in every shade!


Dark as the midnight hour or bright as the mornin’ sun

Give a f*ck about your complexion, I know what the Germans done

Complexion

Complexion don’t mean a thing (it’s a Zulu love)

Complexion

It all feels the same


Kiss It Better – Rihanna

Okay, maybe this one isn’t necessarily correlated to the lyrics on why it empowers me but have you heard the chorus? I mean, I genuinely feel like that baby playing this song, especially if I’m off the li- you know what, it’s just a great song.


These artists and more have helped empower women in their uniqueness of style. Someone make a playlist already. And in my best Martin voice, you go girl!


-R.Y.



In The Know

Sugar Babyyy: To all my ladies who get their girls waxed, a healthier alternative is on the rise. Similar to regular waxing in a number of ways, sugaring is the natural hair removal method that is said to be less painful. Every time I’m about to get a wax I think of trying it but then veer away to remain loyal to my current wax lady. (real life problems) However, if you haven’t tried it before or know much about sugaring being healthfull gives a breakdown with a comparison of the two.


Lip Gloss Poppin’: Pretty sure every girl has that one (or more if you’re like me) lip gloss that they keep in their purse. For me personally, I love a nice clear gloss from time to time, depending on the look, but the real goat of glosses is NYX Butter Gloss. The shade, Ginger Snap, gives the perfect nude gloss look on my brown skin. This is the only gloss I actually finish and restock consistently! To buy this look you can find it on NYXCosmetics.


Crushing On


On a trip to LA, I almost went to visit The Marathon Clothing Store. Being that Nipsey Hussle, the owner of the store, is Habesha like my self and the people I was with, it was only right we stopped by. Time, however, was not on our side and we didn’t get a chance to see it. You can only imagine how crushed I was when a week later, Nipsey Hussle The Great, had passed away. If you’re ever in Los Angeles, support a local black business and check out The Marathon Clothing Store.


Currently




I’ve always loved a nice square shaped nail, but as of lately, coffin has been my go to. I currently have almond coffin nails with a clear nude. I think I will try almond next. We’ll see how that goes.







Now Streaming



Casually scrolling on Instagram, I came across one of my favorite beauty influencers @itsmyrayeraye who, like in most of her videos, was doing her makeup. In the video, she was playing this song entitled, Ride Out, from her husband’s EP. Boyce’s voice and overall vibe in this song led me to explore his catalog and I wasn’t disappointed.




A Word


Nothing more, nothing less. Stay Easy, ItGals. <3

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page