top of page

Shapes of Fear

Fear is the emotion of distress caused when someone believes there is a threat. It’s a feeling that we’ve all experienced before because after all, it’s human. However, you should also know, you can’t live the life you have planned for yourself while also living in fear.


I recently took a visit to the National Portrait Gallery. Honestly, I walked in on some “you know why I’m here,” show me Barack and Michelle! Immediately I grabbed a map to go to the floors where the iconic portraits of Barack and Michelle Obama were on but I kept stopping on the way. To my ignorance, there were portraits there on every floor that were jaw dropping. Some carried deeper meaning while others were abstract and appealing to the eye. One in particular that drew my attention was a painting entitled, “Shapes of Fear.”



Although no words attached, it said enough. In my moments of taking it in, I began thinking how in our lives, we as humans carry these chips on our shoulders unnecessarily, yet acceptingly. The shapes of fear in our lives of course, vary. Some people attach the emotion to frogs, snakes or some other physical thing. Others may attach the emotion to failure, disappoint or even success. All different, all hindering.


Kendrick Lamar’s 2017 DAMN, included the track FEAR. The song touches on fears that he as a young, black boy in Compton, USA experienced. Beyond that, Kendrick reveals the fears he battles now as an adult and thriving rapper.


I’ll prolly die from witnesses leavin’ me false accused

I’ll prolly die from thinkin’ that me and your hood was cool

Or maybe die from pressin’ the line, actin’ too extra

Or maybe die because these smokers are more than desperate

I’ll prolly die from one of these bats and blue badges

Body-slammed on black and white paint, my bones snappin’



All this money, is God playin’ a joke on me?

Is it for the moment and will he see me as Job?

Take it from me and leave me worse than I was before?

At 27, my biggest fear was losin’ it all


If you don’t know, after his blow-up success, Kendrick Lamar experienced depression. Although there were many underlying causes, one was the fear of success and the changes it brought to his life.


What can we do though? The trick is mind over matter. It's important to stay resilient and victorious in conquering your fears. Spiritually, try to remain faithful. 2 Timothy 1:7 reads “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” Biologically, we can fight our fears by training ourselves mentally. The term is literally called fight-or-flight and you have to fight. I'll leave you with this quote from Jay Z, "those who are successful, overcome their fears. Those who aren't submit to their fears and live with regrets." Ultimately, the choice is yours.


GOOD VIBES ONLY

-RY

160 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page