top of page

New Paths. Same Strut.

Updated: Aug 25, 2019

Greetings ItGals,


I’ve been thinking a lot about new beginnings and commitments. Mostly how they go hand and hand with each other. Now hear me out: every time we carve out new paths, start a new chapter, or establish new milestones we make a conscious effort to commit. And when you really think about it.... that's scary as sh*t. So much already exists in the lives of women that forces our commitment (i.e. periods) and we don’t have the option to opt-out (i.e. f**king periods). We’re all just constantly adding new layers to this dynamic. Personally speaking, I graduated this past May and am now making big girl moves. While it’s exciting, there are many days when I wish this was less of a new beginning because I always feel like I'm in the dark and never sure of what's happening next. And if you ask any true Capricorn, our weakness is the “unknown”. We’re thinkers, planners, and mavericks among most, so “not knowing” is our deepest fear (reason #1 why I don’t like surprise parties). Nevertheless, the most powerful thing I’ve learned in this stage of life is to appreciate the process of figuring it all out. Every step or misstep is still a fierce walk moving you forward. As a carve out a new path, I'm learning to never forget my strut.


Wishing you all love, peace, and hot-girl knees,


T.



In The Know


The Knotless Braids Craze: I was working in Detroit the past two months and I don't know if my hair just wasn't used to the good ole' industrial air but it got very dry very quickly. So I immediately looked for a local stylist to get my hair braided. In my search, I kept seeing a service option for "knotless" braids. Confused AF, I looked into the style and its supposedly better for folks who want a protective plait style with reduced tension. Even though my budget said hell no to me getting them, I thought it was interesting to know they were an option. Read this article by POPSugar to learn more about knotless braids and their recent popularity.


Too Much Juice: I'll be the first to admit that this "hot girl" summer did not go as planned. Every time Simone told me to put my hands on my knees, my knees told him aht-aht! And yall, I am fed up. So I thought it'd be a good idea to do a juicing cleanse to not only rid my body of toxins but also reconstruct my relationship with food. I know so many women who want to do the same but don't what this entails or how to start. Click here to read a really good article by Project Juice detailing the world of juicing as a means for detoxing the body.


Choosing the Right Facial Cleanser: Also while in Detroit, my skin followed my hair's lead and became very dry. This was something that made me the most insecure because I've always struggled with skin problems due to a mild case of eczema. So, I went into a very bougie Walgreen's and talked to a beauty consultant about changing my skin care routine and that started with my face cleanser. I never realized how important it was to make sure you got the right cleanser for your type of skin and I know I'm not the only one. Here's an article by BirchBox outlining how to approach choosing a cleanser. I would also recommend talking to a dermatologist if you have the means to so they can verify any major changes to your routine.


$ Wish List $


I've always wanted to incorporate the animal print trend into my style in a way that was classy and multi-purposeful. These shoes are IT! I can see myself styling these with a simple jean-and-tee combo or a full on freakum' dress. Either way, I will be adding these to my closet.


These beauties and more like them can be found at Miss Lola Official Boutique.




Crushing On



Negril BK is a restaurant in Brooklyn, NY that looks to provide an "innovative Caribbean culinary experience". While in New York a few weeks ago, I gave them a visit and it was simply magical. From the service, to the food, to the vibes - it was an all in all 10/10. I love seeing the potential of black entrepreneurship fully realized. Click here to explore their website and get access to their social platforms.



Currently


My lock screen is an ode to Miss Solange and digital art.


Now Streaming



Ari is a queen. Period. So freaking talented but still so underrated and under appreciated. For me, her voice and vibes give me a new-age Erykah Badu (my all time fave).


This particular song "Backseat" has been on repeat even though its on one of her older EP's, "Pho". This song is good for car rides, chill sessions and other dubious activities that shall not be named (but feel free you use your imagination *wink*wink*).



And finally....


*A Word*


Now, go forth and disrupt sh*t.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page