top of page

In God We Trust

Trust occurs when we deem someone to be reliable. Over time we build confidence in the person to believe we are safe with them, be it physically or emotionally. There’s no time frame or blueprint to how it’s done but once someone’s actions show to have your best interest, naturally, we begin to trust them.


It’s different, however, when talking about trusting God.


I remember in the eighth grade, I was the only one out of my group of friends preparing to go to a high school across town. I constantly prayed to God that I didn’t have to endure this new start, knowing no one. Regardless of all my prayers, I still ended up having to go. Initially, I felt like I was let down by God. At that point in my faith, I didn’t realize he was shifting me for something bigger. Simply put, I didn’t trust God. I trusted His existence and had faith in that sense but when it came to matters in my life I always questioned: “why?”


Four years later, I was figuring out what college I would be going to. Being from Tallahassee, there was certainly a stigma behind staying there for college. Even more so for going to Florida A&M, as people would say it’s similar to doing high school again because of the familiarity. Despite my prayers for new scenery, God placed me at FAMU. Yet again, I felt unheard and let down. What I wasn’t seeing was His divine intervention on an experience I would now consider a blessing.


Over time, God constantly shows us His plan is better than our own but still, we question or doubt Him. When you find yourself questioning God’s actions, realize it’s the equivalent to you not trusting Him. Sometimes we’re placed in situations where we feel like the outcome should have been different or God disappointed us but in actuality, He’s stirring up a whole master plan for us outchea! We should be patient and be faithful.


I’m noticing that the more I grow in my faith in God, the more I am tested. Overcome each test by showing God you trust His guidance in every situation. How can trusting God be made easier? My favorite bible verse, Jeremiah 29:11, helps me. It says, “For I know the plans I have for you,’ says the Lord, plans to give you hope and a future.” Trusting God is a process, but it’s worth it because He knows what we need more than we know ourselves.




GOOD VIBES ONLY

-RY


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page