top of page

Things to Do: Fort De Soto Park


Hey It Gals!

Friday was a beach day! Summer is literally over for me starting Monday, so I just knew I had to get a beach day in somewhere, somehow! If you didn't already know, I love the beach. I've been to the popular Pier60 beach located in Clearwater, FL a few times, but I wanted to see and experience somewhere new. So, my sister-in-law and I headed out to Fort De Soto Park in St. Petersburg, FL. From the drive into the park and toward the designated beach area I was already impressed. This park offers the beach yes, but also fishing, kayaking, a pier to walk along, snack huts and even little concession stands stocked up with everything necessary for the beach that you may have forgotten. It was so clean and the air smelt fresh. It's also one of the cheapest leisure activity you could do on a weekend with the entry of only five dollars no matter the car size. Other activities do cost, but for a day at the beach all you need is a 5 dollar bill. This beach also has lifeguards on duty which is rare to experience at a beach setting. I further learned that it is also common for visitors to see marine life up close and personal like: dolphins, sea turtles, manatees and other beings here at Fort De Soto Park. So, that for sure is right up my alley because if you really know me you know dolphins and marine mammals are my THING. I will definitely be visiting this beach more often and bringing others to enjoy it as well.


The weather started out a little dull with some overcast, but that's honestly nothing new when living in Florida. The water was so calm, warm and inviting. I kid you gals not... I was in the water just chilling, floating, twirling, splashing and living in the moment. See for me that's the joy of going to the beach. It's therapeutic. The salt water, the sound of the waves rolling in, the sea breeze. It's the best. When I'm out there nothing is really on my mind. It was just a peaceful beach day with my sister, our blankets, our fruit and water. We did have to deal with those pesky beach birds, and I named one Jack, as he photo bombed me and eyed me down for my fruit. I had to shoo him and his homeboys away because they were plotting on my snacks!


So this trip out to the beach was a great way to re-cooperate from a long summer of working and traveling. I got to take some undisturbed time out for myself, and let nature prepare my mind and body for this Fall semester ahead of me. I just cannot believe I'm in my junior year of college when just yesterday I was walking across the stage getting my high school diploma. I'm super proud of myself for pushing through adversity and not giving up. I hope to push through this next year just as I have in the past two. I'm wishing all of my college It Gals the same for this upcoming semester. Shoot for the stars. Try new things. Challenge yourself. Get all you can out of these pivotal years and that money these schools are costing us! Wishing you all success and awesome G.P.A's.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page