top of page

Hello March: It Gal "Catch Up"



Hey It Gals!


To begin, I am thinking just what you all may be thinking. Where have I been? Since the New Year began and school quickly after, The IT Gal has been put into pause mode. But I’m here to say that I am back and ready to push play. Since the start of 2017 a lot of great opportunities have come my way. I currently hold a leadership position within a student run PR firm known as KnoBull. KnoBull is an extension of the University of South Florida’s PRSSA organization which allows students real world experience in Public Relations and all that falls under that umbrella. I am one of the two co-account managers for our client Karen who runs a local consignment boutique called Repeat Performance. My co-account manager and I hold account meetings, assign tasks to our associates, create social media content, create website content, conduct and produce look-book photoshoots & much much more. Essentially we aim to help our client’s visions and ideas come to life via Public Relations to help promote her business. Some of the projects we have and intend to complete are our social media calendar, a spring in- store fashion show, in-store dress for success event, get our client nominated for a sustainable award of the year and a lot more. So, with that being said much of my focus and time goes into this especially since it is resume building and supplies me with real world experience in my future career field. Do y’all feel me? I am actively working towards my future and securing a promising one. But wait there is more. I also began the year with a remote internship as a Style Guru for a well-known fashion blog known as College Fashionista. College Fashionista allows college students from all over the country and beyond to create original articles of fashionistas/fashionistos on our respected campuses. As a Style Guru you create posts of fashionable individuals you may encounter or notice while on campus and build an article around a category such as: style advice, beauty bar advice, what to wear advice etc. This has been a fun and great opportunity to combine my interest in fashion while actively working towards improving my writing skills. It is also a perfect place to network with others all over the country and even those at your school who share similar interests as you. The icing on the cake for the start of 2017 has been getting a job at Sephora! I don’t know what exactly to expect, but all these great opportunities are pointing me into a positive direction. I have been spending time trying to decide which fields of Public Relations I would enjoy and excel in. These opportunities I’ve become blessed with will allow me to get my feet wet in multiple areas of Mass Communications and learn and grow from each experience. I have noticed that Beauty/Lifestyle/Entertainment areas peak my interest the most, so Sephora is a huge step into the right direction to build up my resume for future companies and job descriptions I aspire to start a career in. So, ladies and the gent readers I may have, bear with me! I aim for consistency and want to put my all into everything that I do, but to do so I have to find balance in it all. And sometimes that means pushing the pause button on some things. Regardless though you all will be hearing from me and seeing The It Gal more often again!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page