top of page

DIY: Topshop Inspired Denim


Topshop Star Cutout Denim

Hey It Gals!

I'm back with a fashion DIY project. I took a poll on my instagrams @jldubb__ & @theitgaloffical to see which of two denim looks I should recreate. This was the winner. This look was inspired by Stefani Colvin on YouTube (click her name to watch the video). She originally got the idea from a pair of TopShop jeans, which if you know anything about TopShop is a higher priced retail store, with the cutest, unique pieces as seen abtove ^^. Of course I fell in love with these as she did, so I followed along with her tutorial to gather the materials I'd need to re-create these jeans. In the end result I added my own touches to the look, and I'd encourage you to do the same if you chose to recreate these too. Read below to see how you can get the look!


So first things first, you'll need a pair of jeans (preferably mom, thrifted, vintage jeans), but it's up to you. Next, you need to get your materials: You'll need colored mesh from a fabric store, printed stars to trace onto pants, gem rhinestones (singles), a roll of rhinestone (connected), hot glue gun & glue gun sticks.


To get started on created you first want to position your star cutouts on your pants where you'd like them to be. Then, begin tracing them.



After you've got your placement down and set begin cutting the stars out... carefully. This may seem hard or impossible but it's not. Use scissors that are in a good condition and start at the tips of each star. TAKE YOUR TIME!

Now that you've cut the stars out hold onto your star cut out from the jean, and flip your jeans inside out. Prepare your glue gun. Cut out square mesh pieces to glue behind your star cut out. This is where the color of mesh you choose will now show through the star you cut out of your jeans. TIP: use the jean remains from the stars you cut out to glue behind your mesh at some places to alleviate being irritated by the mesh on your bare leg.


Now it's time to get blinged out! Flip jeans to be right side out and prepare your glue gun. Use your single rhinestone gems and place all along the edges of the star to get them a border. Continue to do this for each star. After you've done that, take your rhinestone strips, the connected ones, and cut different lengths and amounts to glue beneath the stars of you choice. Refer to image below to visually see what I mean.


Make note of how the strips of rhinestone is placed beneath some stars to create a shoot star effect.

Now. Let dry. At this point you are finished, but I added a few more things. I glued a rhinestone studded star onto my back pants pocket and cut a few distressed holes into some places. After those touches my project was complete! Here's some final images.


Comment below and let me know if you think I've #NailedIt of #FailedIt. I hope you gals enjoyed this & will try it for yourself in the near future. Look on on my Instagram later today, July 4th, for how I styled these for the holiday. XOXO

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page