top of page

When the going gets tough

Hey It gals! I hope the new year is treating you well, and if not just remember January is a trial month anyway.

To show you that you're not alone when it comes to the struggle I''m going to tell you how mother nature came in full force to get my new year rolling LOL! So basically, PMS kicked my a**, and as you all know like I know, PMS can make you a different person than you really are. You're emotions are high, you may be overly sensitive or self conscious, and even impulsive. In my personal life, when I'm faced with stressful things like hormonal changes, school life, internal conflicts with myself and whatever else there's a few things that I use to help cope and level myself back out.




#1 is probably a universal coping mechanism, but MUSIC is everything. Music takes me to another place and fills my mind with lyrics and replaces my mind of my thoughts. That is key for me. I have to get out of my own head 9/10 in stressful/anxious moments of life. Music does this and without me even noticing right away. I put on songs that I know word for word or give me that "happy" feeling almost instantly and that I can't deny. I'll play anything as far as gospel to really lift my spirits and think of things I am blessed with and grateful for to an old school Justin Beiber song from middle school. Regardless of the genre let the music take you away and watch your mood shift!


#2 is exercise. I'm sure many have heard this idea before, and if not listen up. Exercising is definitely another form of release as music is to many people. When your engaging in physical activity dopamine is released which is a neurotransmitter in the brain that plays a role in happiness. Stress levels also go down. Not only for the meantime, but also in the long run. When you subject your body to this lower level of stress, as you raise your heart rate and force hormonal changes to shift, your body works with you in how you handle stress and the stressors in life. It helps with better night's sleep which in turn can be a factor you're lacking in due to how down you may have been feeling. It provides you with energy and boosts your confidence overall. It's also a distraction. You can't focus on other thoughts and feelings when your legs are burning along with your abs and trying to catch your breath from a mile run.


#3 is a personal touch that has dramatically impacted my life positively since I began doing it. Devotional reading and my prayer journal. When I tell you all that this has been my safe haven please believe me. Okay, so quick story time! In the summer of 2017, I had just moved out of my dorm room ending my sophomore year and my family had officially moved 20 minutes south of my university in Riverview, FL. My sophomore year was a really trying time for me in regards to a somewhat identity crisis, culture shock, anxiety and more. It was really a breaking point that I had to endure to get my attitude, mind and self together. That year lead me to embark on a spiritual journey. I was originally inspired by India Love, a model and public figure, whose Snapchat I followed and she would read daily devotionals where she wrote notes, read accompanying scriptures and journal her prayers. Being in a new city I had no real desire to go find a church home and the works so, the idea of taking my spirituality into my own hands and in a personal manner spoke to me. That summer when I moved in with my parents, away from the dorm, I realized so much about me that I did not like due to how down I had been feeling that school year about everything. I was snappy, emotional, created so much isolation etc. so I prayed and prayed for a long time sharing all that I didn't like about my attitude, my thoughts, my behaviors and just asked that God work on me from the inside out. And so he DID!

It all started with me giving daily time dedicated to talking to God, reading his Word and sharing my feelings, desires, fears, and whatever else with him in this prayer journal. After I journal I get an instant relief that I've put it all into His hands, and that is all that he asks me to do. So, I suggest giving this a try as well. The relief you feel is almost instantaneous. I have really been reborn because of this. Be consistent and transparent. Build that relationship to gain His favor. Once you make this a part of your lifestyle you'll noticeably recognize differences in your life. It will also show differences in your life when and id you fall off track with communicating with Him, which in my opinion, in those moments show the power of prayer the most.


I hope my ladies find this helpful and whew, I got a little transparent there. Transparency is so hard for me to do, it's scary, I'm a guarded person, but also super empathetic toward others, but when it comes to me sharing and opening up.... girl!


Anyone that knows me knows I like to get to know myself through studying the zodiac, and this here says it all.

So, I'm slowly but surely trying to open up and let people know me a bit deeper, because I'm really a lot of fun and have a genuine personality. Y'all my girls so, i'm gonna let you all into my world more than I would ever. Hope you all find these to be helpful tips on overcoming tough times tied to emotion or uncertainty or anxiety. Let me know if any of this was helpful for you in any way.


XOXO,

Just, Jaiya

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page