top of page

Spring Break 2019: Miami

Hey ItGals! Welcome back. Spring is in the air. It's the start of a new season that I hope bears new blessings. I enjoy spring for many reasons. It calls for not so hot, hot weather, colorful nails, more socializing, my birthday, spring semester ending, summer beginning, graduations and spring break! I spent my senior year spring break in Miami and finally at the age of 21. I wanted to share my trip with you all and some info on my swimwear, outfits, hotel arrangements & more.




Spring Break: The Hotel

I went to Miami in a group of six. The six consisted of friends from back home who shared a spring break weekend with me. We stayed at the La Flora. It was and is a perfect location on Collins Ave. and a few blocks down from 7th street where all the fun beach festivities take place. So, we were close enough, but not directly in the middle of all the fuss. It's a three story building and was quiet and quaint where you could get a good night's rest. The shower size and tub were a plus along with the living area being separate from the sleeping area. This allowed us to have a place for turning up separate from where we'd lay our heads. They do offer complimentary breakfast... but I wouldn't place your bets on it AT ALL. There were no waffles or waffle maker, no cereal, no oatmeal, nothing you'd expect to enjoy for breakfast. The La Flora did offer valet which is a great addition due to the amount of people in Miami at one time and the lack of parking available at times. We decided to just use a neighboring public parking garage because its nightly fee was $20 compared to $30 a night for the valet. But if you can spot that $30 I'd recommend it. The parking availability was another plus to staying at the La Flora because their were two paid public parking areas less than 500 feet away. The trick was just snagging a spot! The one downfall to the La Flora was that there was no microwave in the room, but the lobby did have one for recreational use, so I guess that makes up for it... I guess.


Spring Break Day 1: V Live Miami

We got in late Thursday night, March 14th, and already had our purchased tickets to a party at "THEE" V Live Miami. Emphasis on "thee". We got there and we were immediately unimpressed, but we gave it a chance. V Live has two rooms and the first one was more of a vibe and we were looking for the party! The second room is where we found it to be more lit and inviting and better music. I won't share exactly what we saw..lol.. but it was an eventful enough first night in Miami. My friend Ekaya did have to say though, "Is this the V Live Drake talks about?"... "It can't be!" LOL. She had a point though. I figured well, maybe Drake and his team have private parties in the second room and get it lit on their own and bring in the kind of entertainment he can afford and would want around.


Spring Break Day 2: South Beach & World Trade

So, Friday was the first full day in Miami and we were definitely excited about putting on our new bikini's, having some drinks and taking fly pictures. We walked from 12th street to 7th street to walk down to the beach where all the spring breakers are dancing and music playing. We ended up heading down too early so, we walked down Ocean Drive and parked it at Voodoo Rooftop. This place was vibe. So, we found this to be the perfect place for pictures!





Since I started planning for this trip I knew that I wanted to rock a neon/lime green swimsuit. I was looking high and low for one and so many of them were lack luster. They just didn't have that wow factor. I finally came across one at ICON swim. It was about $26 dollars with tax and shipping included. I got the size medium.


Later that night, we went out to Trade night club. It's one of the two night clubs located on Washington Ave. in South Beach Miami. I wore a tiger striped body con midi dress with camisole straps. In the true spirit of the Ciy Girls anthem Act Up. Stripes on my... so he call this... yea y'all know the rest!



I got this dress from Charlotte Russe as they had their store closing sale. I felt like Miami was the best place to wear this festive print.


Spring Break Day 3: South Beach & Miami Streets

On Saturday we hit the beach again, because Saturday is a lit day for the beach. It's more people, more socializing, more music, more to see and more to do. I pulled out my more "risque" swimsuit for this day. Well in my mom's eyes, she was not here for it lol. In my personal opinion I just don't know what other time to wear a swimsuit like this one. It's Miami and you see so much that when you do see it it's almost no longer a big deal lol. I originally wanted black mesh pants so that the swimsuit could be seen and have some level of coverage. It didn't work out and I quickly realized why. Every girl had those pants on!




This two piece is from MATTE COLLECTION for $14. They are literally always having a sale with crazy low prices like that and the cutest swimwear.


I will say, spending those hours out at the beach really drain you. The sun mixed with dehydration and standing all day will have you wore out, okay. Later that night we planned to hit the city of Miami. It took all of me to get up and be a team player and hang out. The original plan was to hit up G5 Miami.. but for some people's energy levels and financial reasons we passed on it. Not having much to do he last night was a let down, but we were all tired and got out late which meant that nothing was open as an alternative.




I wore the cutest neon pink dress inspired by Kim K's infamous pink neon dress. If you know you know. This was also a gem I snagged at Charlotte Russe as hey held their store closing sale. This look did not get its deserved praised so, I will be pulling this out again.


Spring Break Day 4: Wynwood & Heading Home

Sunday was check out day. We noticed how we didn't get to put on cute outfits and sight see as much. So we decided to spend the few hours before hitting the road down in the Wynwood area. We wanted to see the infamous Wynwood walls. To our surprise we saw the art and more. We came across the Wynwood Market and i was hosting a St. Patrick's Day event with music, drinks, photo ops and plenty vendors.






I enjoyed being surrounded so many people of color and all my college peers from far and near. I enjoyed being around my core best friends and making memories to have. This was senior year. I do feel like I'm ready to make more of vacations beyond college spring break vibes. I'm ready for girl's trips to places that will provide life changing experiences. I'm ready for the next level. I definitely felt like "man, I'm getting old for this" lol. But, I'm going to enjoy living in the present because these years fly by. Hope you all enjoyed this read. Can' wait to share more trips with you, the travel details, the living arrangements etc.



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page