top of page

Meet It Gal, Taylor


Meet April's It Gal. Taylor Sparks-Wilson.

Taylor Sparks-Wilson is a full time student at Georgia State University studying Public Health with a minor in Sign Language. Taylor is Detroit, Michigan born and raised, but has been living in Atlanta, Georgia for the last three years. With her hands full of case studies, epidemiology exams, or health care evaluations, you can still find her always working on her brand, her baby, Black Barbie Gear. What started out as just a mere idea, Black Barbie Gear, has just celebrated its sixth month anniversary. Taylor has plans of obtaining her Masters in Health Information Management after graduation in May 2020 and opening her very own Black Barbie World store soon. In addition to her brand, Taylor also has a passion for raising awareness about the health disparities among minorities. She will continue to incorporate this within her non profit Black Barbie Blanket Drive, an extension from her overall brand.



1. What do you think it means to be an It Gal?


First, I want to say I am honored to be an It Gal! I mean who wouldn’t be?? To be an It Gal means you are not only a boss babe, but also a hustler, and an educated one at that!


2. How did you come up with Black Barbie Gear and Lifestyle? and what was the creative process like?


OMG, I’m not going to lie, around 8 different names ran through my head until I finally found Black Barbie Gear. I knew I wanted the word “Gear” in my name, because I felt like Black Barbie made it super girly, but the Gear made it hard and also gives off the impression I have everything you need if you shop with us! The creative process was a little rough. I paid someone with a lot of followers on Instagram to create a logo, that I absolutely hated! (First lesson I learned in business, don’t go for people with a lot of following, sometimes that means nothing). So after that, I submitted all the aspects and ideas for my logo to a man in Greece, who then created my logo, and made it the bomb Black Barbie Gear that it is today!


3. How has it been owning and running your clothing line while being in school full time?


School comes naturally to me! I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been in school all my life, or because my mom instilled in me, to just get it done! Also, both my parents are very educated, my mom has her Masters and my dad has his bachelor's degree, so I never thought of school as something I couldn’t do, a burden, or unnecessary. I always looked at how successful my parents were, and honestly believed school was the only way for me to be successful (which is far from true!). From the moment I could talk, I understood I would be going to college! Lol but when I got to college, it took me two years to realize I needed to use my platform of over 15,000 students to develop and build an empire! Don’t get me wrong, I was hustling in college way before Black Barbie. I used to sell headphones as my full time hustle, then I started doing braids and faux locs which I still do, follow my hair page, Black Barbie Beauty! So I was always working on my businesses while in school. I would say it’s easier to run a business in school, simply because I can wear my t-shirts on campus, and in between classes just pass out cards and talk to students informing them of my brand! It just takes time management and prioritizing, I wake up early everyday and knock out my school work so the rest of my day can be focused around Black Barbie Gear.


4. Describe yourself in three words.


If I had to describe myself in three words it would be  Intelligent, goal driven, and dedicated.


5. What are your ways of staying positive, focused and confident throughout this journey? Because we'd be naive to just believe every day is a good one.

CONSISTENCY is key! You’re absolutely right, every day isn’t a great day in business, but you have to know and understand that is only temporary. Businesses don’t blow up overnight. I came up with a saying when I was in the process of getting legalities, logos, and product together, before anyone knew I was working on a brand, and it’s Progress Everyday! Everyday you won’t sell out of clothing, some weeks you may not sell anything! It’s about knowing that the brand is still developing. When I see my sales are slowing down, I incorporate a new marketing strategy, a new way to reach a bigger audience. As long as I’m taking steps forward towards our goals, I’m happy, I’m positive. My dad often has to remind me that my brand is still a baby! Like I said, I’ve only been in business for 5 months so my brand still has so much growing to do, as well as me as an entrepreneur!


6. Any advice on how to successfully become a CEO and be your own boss?


Of course!! I love giving advice to upcoming entrepreneurs because it excites me to see that young people want to invest in themselves! My first piece of advice would be, don’t tell anyone about your brand until its set and stone and you have product to show for it! I say this because, the process is longer than you think. You don’t want to announce to the world you have a brand on the way in the next month, then the next month comes and you have nothing. You have already broken your customers trust, before you even launched! Also, people can be negative sometimes. Sharing your business ideas before they are in place, can cause certain people to negatively affect the decisions you have for your business. Remember, only you know where you can take your business so don’t let others influence or stop you from going after your dreams! My second bit of advice would be, give it your ALL! Don’t come into entrepreneurship trying to half step, you’ll be stepped right over. There’s too many businesses out there, always try to create creative and fun ways to make your brand stand out from anyone else! (If you have specific business questions, feel free to message me, I’m an open book!)


7. We see that you've begun to incorporate events into the BBG Lifestyle, tell us about BBG's first vision board party?

Yesssss! My first vision board party was such a success! I knew I needed to do something that empowers young women to get on their grind, by being around other boss women who are already in their bag! They motivated me so much, just being in a room filled with women your age who want to see you be successful is so important! We laughed, talked, shared stories, shared businesses, it helped not only encourage and motivate young women, but also helped them network with other women with similar businesses as them!



8. Tell us three things (fun facts) we don't know about you?


One fun fact about me is I love seeing how risky my life can get! Like skydiving, falling into the middle of the ocean off a boat or jet ski, being dropped from hundreds of feet on a roller coaster! I just love the adrenaline rush! Another fun fact is I don’t eat any foods that are white besides bread. I hate eggs, grits, milk, and I can only eat rice if it’s fried lol it’s crazy, but it’s true! My last fun fact is when I was growing up, I thought I was going to be a rapper! My dad used to come pick me up on my uncles tour bus and take me to studios and I would write raps. The truth is, I wrote a rap last week, be on the lookout I might drop an EP soon! Lol

9. Where do you see yourself and business in 5 years?

In five years, I see a Black Barbie store in multiple cities near you! I see us being a worldwide known brand, let’s do another interview in five years to see if I reached that goal!

10. Any upcoming additions being made to BBG that we should be on the lookout for?


Black Barbie Lashes is a part of our brand that we are currently working on extending! Along with me doing eyelash extensions, we will soon be selling strips and other cosmetics, follow us to stay up to date!


11. Any message you want to leave for the It Gals out there?


It Gals!! If you’re reading this, you’re already doing something right! Find your passion, your drive, and go with it! Don’t doubt yourself, God will make a way for all your dreams to become reality, but you have to have faith in him and yourself first! The sky’s the limit! Don’t be discouraged by how many people are running a business similar to yours, figure out how to make yours the best on the market!



ok, fire ball round.

Favorite App?

Instagram of courseee!


Celebrity Crush?

I honestly don't have a celebrity crush, but Trouble is fine honey.


Who's someone that inspires you?

Besides my family, Supa_Cent, she became a millionaire on black friday by building her brand off of crayola crayons, and putting her own twist to her makeup line The Crayon Case, I’m doing something similar with barbie.


Something you can't leave home without?

My business cards! OMG, if I walk to campus and I run out of business cards, I will seriously stop in my tracks and walk all the way back home to get some more! You never know who you may see!


Current Fav Song?

My current favorite song is Move on Me by Rylo Rodriguez. I’m big on underground rappers, I think they go the hardest, especially Atlanta ones. I’m big on underdogs period, I love when people are doubted and then proven wrong!

Current Fav beauty brand?

The crayon case by Supa_Cent, Im working on sending her and newborn, Lea some gear now!


Your Fav It Gal?

Tayler is my favorite It Gal, from FAMU. I love that she is doing everything for herself! Creative directing, photo shoots, beauty campaigns, and she’s also a beauty advisor. I need to reach out to her for advice as we work on expanding our Black Barbie Beauty brand!


Follow Black Barbie Gear Socials:

Follow follow follow us, on all of our social media platforms!

Our Instagram is Blackbarbiegear, our Facebook is Black Barbie LLC and our Etsy is Black Barbie Gear.


The It Gal welcomes submissions of It Gals that you know of and deserve recognition for their efforts! Send submissions to theitgalofficial@gmail.com

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page