top of page

Meet It Gal, Kathryn

Updated: Jul 20, 2019


Kathryn Lewis. July ItGal of the month.

She's Bold. She's Inspiring. & She's here to Unleash Your Style. Kathryn is a Senior at Florida Agricultural & Mechanical University. Passionate in all things fashion, from styling, to modeling, to consulting. She aspires to be a fashion correspondent for E! News and other networks. Kathryn is from Tallahassee, FL who exudes authenticity and encourages everyone be true to themselves.


1. What do you think it means to be an It Gal?


My interpretation of it means to be a woman who is confident, self-motivated, and only focuses on her unique mission in life. 


2. One thing TIG has noticed about you, Ms. KatMarLew, is your authenticity. How has being true to yourself helped you in the long run? Has it been challenging to do so and refrain from submitting yourself to what people/following want or may expect you to be?


I’ve never struggled with being my most authentic self. God has opened many doors for me because I’ve always trusted that no matter my brief moments of self-doubt, He will always open doors that are meant for me. He’s also equipped me with the knowledge to create my own lane. So, that’s a blessing. 

One thing I take pride in, is that I have never wanted to be anybody else but Kathryn M. Lewis. Other people inspire me, but I want a life and legacy of my own that I plan to fulfill. I’m on God’s time. Not mine or anyone else’s.



3. As a PR major with fashion career goals, how has school and the degree you're pursuing impacted your aspirations, if at all?


At first, I was a heath care management major from my freshman year to the fall of my sophomore year, but I was deeply unhappy. I couldn’t stand that major. I knew that FAMU offered a Journalism program, but I didn’t know that PR was offered also. I changed my major and felt so much better. So, it elevated my mindset which made me feel like I could do better academically and personally. 


4. Describe yourself in three words.


- Fabulous, Honest, Determined. 


5. TIG thinks you're awesome at personally branding yourself. What would be some tips and advice on how to impactfully do so for any ItGal out there? Whether they are fashionistas or not.


Utilize your resources. No one ever gave me a blueprint on how to do something. I’d advise everyone to research their interests, then exhaust every resource possible until you find what you need. You have to be self-sufficient. 




6. As a young adult, you more than likely have many goals set out to be accomplished. What would the optimal level of success look like for you?


Living in my purpose that God has for me and really being the great woman I know that I’m capable of becoming. Really just being happy while doing what I love. 


7. Purpose is one of those things so many people search for and hope to fulfill in their lifetime. For many of us ItGals, it's challenging to see if we are honoring our purpose. How did you know, if you do feel as though you are, you were serving your purpose? 

I knew that my strengths throughout childhood to now, have been public speaking and writing. When I was in middle school, fashion was added to my interests. I thought that I wanted to be a pharmacist or work in the health field because that’s what adults said was a “real” job and what made money. But, I was miserable in my first major because I knew good and well that math and science are not my strengths. I focused on my strengths and moved accordingly. So, I’d suggest not doing something that you know isn’t interesting to you. We know ourselves better than anyone. I’m blessed to have a very strong support system from my parents, family and friends. 



8. Between styling, modeling, partnerships, personal branding and school you're probably a busy lady but, busy women need breaks too. What are your favorite ways to decompress, reset and take care of yourself?


I love to sit at home, sip my wine and watch my shows. I’m really into “Pose”, “Claws”, “Law & Order: SVU”, and “Big Little Lies.” I’m waiting on “Power” to come back. I also love treating myself to a nice mani/pedi and getting my hair done. 


9. Tell us three things (fun facts) we don't know about you?


Some people might know this already if they follow me on social media, but I can sing well, I was a former gymnast when I was a child and I was a fashion consultant for actress, KJ Smith. 


10. Your interests are not linear and for many ItGals, this is the case. Do you feel it is best to explore multiple projects at once and practice time management or to master one aspiration and goal at a time?


- I think it depends on you as a person. For me, I explore multiple interests and projects. 


11. Any message you want to leave for the ItGals out there?


- Don’t allow social media to make you feel inadequate about the life God’s blessed you with. Too many people compare their finances, their bodies, their relationships/lack-there-of, to what they see on their timelines each day. Always be grateful for your own life. If you want to do something, go at it full-force and rejection can sometimes be a blessing in disguise. You can either allow hardships to make you feel defeated, or you can feel how you feel, then pick yourself back up and keep going. Don’t be afraid to ask for help and always be yourself. 


ok, fire ball round.

Favorite App?

It’s a tie between Instagram and Twitter

Celebrity Crush?

I really don’t have one.  Who's someone that inspires you?

My Mother

What's something you can't leave home without?

Phone, wallet, and keys


Current Fav Song?

Racks by H.E.R. ft. YBN Cordae


Current Fav beauty brand?

Fenty Beauty


Your Fav It Gal?

Diamond Rollins!


Follow Kathryn:

Instagram: @katmarlew

Twitter: @katmarlew

Website: www.katmarlew.com

Kathryn as Spring Nite Kap Fashion Correspondent: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQccZpI5BD0&authuser=1

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page