top of page

Meet "It" Gal, Rodia


Meet March's It Gal. Rodia Nassirou.

Rodia, is a third year college senior studying Health Sciences & Communications, originally from Brampton, Ontario currently residing in the sunshine state. She holds social media and public relations positions within her student organization and the Red Cross Club. Outside of being a full-time student, she is a content creator and YouTuber where she shares her personality, hair reviews, clothing try on hauls, advice along with tips and tricks with her subscribers. Rodia as an influencer aims to be a great representative for minority women. As a woman of many minority groups she desires to use her brand to provoke laughter, knowledge, inspiration and individuals to be their most unapologetic selves. She has aspirations of being a Social Media Director for one of her favorite beauty brands with plans of becoming a businesswoman of her own.




1. What do you think it means to be an It Gal?


In my opinion, an It Gal is an unapologetic, confident, intelligent and driven girl who carries positive energy with her everywhere while simultaneously empowering those around her.

2. We see that you're a YouTuber and a pretty successful one at that, how has YouTube impacted your life thus far?

Thank you! It sounds so cliché to say but I truly do not know where I’d be without it. YouTube alone has managed to impact pretty much every aspect of my life in just the span of a little over three years. It has impacted my friendships, my family, my academics, my self-growth and so much more. Even before creating a channel of my own, YouTube had managed to impact my life in a number of ways.


3. What's the creative process you undergo when creating content for your channel?

When creating content for my channel, I like to start off by studying some of the greats. I binge watch videos from some of my favorite YouTubers. I then make sure to take into consideration what my supporters would like to see from me by going through my comments, emails and direct messages. I eventually conclude with a brainstorm or two and creating detailed plans for the video ideas in which I believe will be most suitable for my brand.





4. Describe yourself in three words.

Passionate, Creative & Multifaceted

5. If you had to choose one thing you were most passionate about to do for the rest of your life, money not being a factor, what would it be and why?

Cliché once again, but I would probably do YouTube. If not YouTube, I would definitely be a full time Food Enthusiast haha.


6. Any advice for those who are full-time students but are aspiring to be YouTubers, such as yourself?

The heaviest but the most helpful and honest advice I could give to a full-time student aspiring to do YouTube would be to focus on quality, consistency and creativity. To this day, I struggle with consistency and it sucks because being inconsistent really only sets me back. However, with the knowledge I have accumulated over the years, I feel that those three things are the most important.




7. What message do you aim for your platform to deliver to your following?

I hope to inspire girls like myself and different from me to be their utmost unapologetic selves, whether that be super crazy and loud or very collected and composed or even a bit of both. I often use the word “crackhead” in my videos to kind of signify me or someone else being funny, wild or crazy… but real and true to themselves of course. I also hope to normalize the idea of simultaneously being a master piece as well as a work in progress. In other words, I want to make the concept of always working towards bettering yourself okay whether you be young or old.


8. Tell us three things (fun facts) we don't know about you?

Three fun facts about me are that I have triple citizenship (Canada, USA & Nigeria), I played violin for three years in middle school and that unfortunately, the only Disney princess movie I’ve seen is Beauty & The Beast… and I barely remember it lol.


9. What's your favorite inspirational quote?

“Dare to live greatly, dare to live imperfectly” – Viola Davis

“No condition is permanent.” – Mom (I think lol)


10. Any message you want to leave for the It Gals out there?

I want It Gals to get in tune with their rawest forms! Who are you outside of the expectations and labels your family, friends, and society have set for you? Find that girl, give her a HUGE hug and never let go.



ok, fire ball round.

Favorite App?

Twitter. I’m a sucker for memes and #blacktwitter humor.

Celebrity Crush?

My current celebrity crushes would have to be Jay R. Ellis, Cordell Broadus, Chadwick Boseman and Broderick Hunter to name a few.

Who's someone that  inspires you?

Besides my mother, Rihanna has definitely got to be one of my biggest inspirations. I admire her authentic, bold and versatile brand. I also admire her ability to literally put on anything and look absolutely stunning.


Something you can't leave home without?

I cannot leave home without chap stick/lip-gloss!


Current Fav Song?

My current fav song is Raise a Man by Alicia Keys.

Current Fav beauty brand?

My all-time FAVORITE beauty brand is the one and only Fenty Beauty.


Your Fav It Gal?

My fav It Gal is Diamond Rollins! I am obsessed with her posts.


Follow Rodia's Social:

Instagram: @TomiwaRodia



The It Gal welcomes submissions of It Gals that you know of and deserve recognition for their efforts! Send submissions to theitgalofficial@gmail.com

63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page