top of page

Meet "It" Gal, Hateea

Updated: Jan 28, 2019


Hateea Williams. January's It Gal.

She is a self taught fashion designer and business owner of The New Project from Tallahassee, FL. This 20 year old creative specializes in reconstructing name brand and vintage clothing into modern and current styles. Hateea's style, aesthetic and approach to fashion are all unique which has made herself and her work stand apart from the crowd. Fashion is her passion. She is ambitious and determined. Hateea aspires to, wait no, WILL be an It Gal in charge in the near future designing and running a successful business of her own. Meet the first It Gal of the year!


1. What do you think it means to be an It Gal?


To be an It Gal to me means to be one to watch. An it girl is an inspiration to everyone and also a leader. Someone who doesn't compete and is humble but still aware of their powers. An It Gal is a 10 inside and out. 


2. How did you get into designing via fashion and graphics?


I got my first sewing machine in 10th grade because I wanted to take plain 3$ T-shirts from Walmart and add pockets of different fabric designs, that was my first big idea. It didn't really work out the first two years of me having my machine because the drive, capability to design and form ideas weren't there, so i gave up. It wasn't until the first year out of high school that I decided to take it more seriously and learn more techniques and also start drawing up ideas and patterns. Since then until Summer 2018 it has been trial and error and I've gotten better and better I surprised myself. I've now recently been able to find my niche, exclusive and intricate rework designs and I now consider myself an advanced fashion designer. Even though I am a re-worker I design from scratch and I do as much as a regular designer just with already made pieces and my designs are organic.



3. Describe yourself in three words.


innovative, observatory, sassy


4. Are you a true Pisces?


I am a true Pisces because I am dreamy and in my own world. All Pisces traits correlate with me.


5. What or who keeps you motivated?


I motivate myself because my ambitions are to be happy, enjoying what I do while making money. I am very mindful of my own life and how short it is and the fact life is what we make it. My ideas keep me motivated because it gives me a sense of purpose, when I execute my ideas people love it. Wanting to give back to the people who have helped me along the way is also a motivation for me. 



6. What are your top sources of fashion inspiration?


Off-White/Virgil Abloh , Yeezy/Kanye West, PUMA/Rihanna


7. Where do you see yourself and brand in 5 years?


Five years from now or even this year, I see my brand DEFINING rework and being the number one well known rework brand in the world. I want to be able to stand next to my favorite and most inspiring brands like Nike + Off-White as competition because its really that personal to me. I want to be just as great as them. I see my team growing bigger from one person to hundreds, I don't want to be the only person implicating ideas forever. I see myself making my first million dollars within those 5 years. It may seem out of reach but its not with countless hours, days and months dedicated to making my brand what I want it to be, all while keeping faith. 



8. Tell us three things (fun facts) we don't know about you?


I wanted to be an interior designer, YouTube taught me how to sew, I love dogs


9. Any upcoming projects we should be on the lookout for?


Website relaunch coming March 2019, thenew-project.com. Lots of new faces representing our brand. Content/sneak peaks of SS(spring/summer)19 dropping on @thenewproj Feb 2019.



10. Any message you want to leave for the It Gals out there?


IT GALS, don't stop dreaming. Along with dreaming you have to make a plan, take small steps if you have to but be consistent. Learn discipline and make sacrifices for what you want. Nothing happens over night, manifest. Dedicate your life to your dreams if you are that serious about it. Support the people who support you and stay mindful. Learn to be self aware before anything else. People are watching you so lead with grace.


Follow Hateea: Instagram: @hateeaxo & @thenewproj


The It Gal welcomes submissions of It Gals that you know and deserve recognition for their efforts! Send submissions to theitgalofficial@gmail.com

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page